What happens when you delete something on Social Media? Delete doesn’t always mean it’s gone.

Ever wonder what happens when you delete a tweet, public Facebook post, or comment on a news story.
In theory, once you delete, bam it’s gone. More often it’s around forever. Several services index the web, Google, and Bing use indexing to make searches respond faster. Search engine indexing collects, and stores data for fast and accurate information retrieval. If you deleted a Tweet that was indexed it could still come up in the cached search results. There are also several services paid and free that index and store web info for marketing and research purposes. The basic rule of thumb is once it’s posted it’s out there forever. Don’t post anything you wouldn’t want to defend in court or talk about at work.